Academics

English & Communication Department

Department Chair: Michael Stutz, (860) 215-9479, MStutz@threerivers.edu

The English & Communication Department at Three Rivers provides courses designed to help students improve their reading and writing and be more successful in their academic careers. English courses range from developmental to higher level literature and writing courses. Communication courses are also included in the department.


Department Mission

The English & Communication Department at Three Rivers Community College helps students become successful readers, writers, thinkers, and speakers to facilitate the habits of mind that are at the heart of genuine inquiry and engender meaningful academic discourse and civic engagement.


Department Vision

The English & Communication Department at Three Rivers Community College is committed to providing students with the highest quality education over the entire range of courses we offer.


Full-Time Faculty

Todd Barry

Assistant Professor of English
Ph.D., J.D., University of Connecticut; B.A., Princeton University
Office: C272
(860) 215-9406
TBarry@threerivers.edu

Marcel Burch

Professor of English
M.A., Southern Connecticut State University; B.A., Eastern Connecticut State University
Office: C256
(860) 215-9410
MBurch@threerivers.edu

Victoria Holdridge DiFilippo

Full-Time Instructor of English as a Second Language
M.S., School for International Training; B.S., University of New Hampshire

Office: C236
(860) 215-9466
VDifilippo@threerivers.edu    

Frederick-Douglass Knowles II

Associate Professor of English
M.A., Southern Connecticut State University; B.A., Eastern Connecticut State University
Office: C120
(860) 215-9445
FKnowles@threerivers.edu

Jennifer Long

Professor of English
M.Ed., Millersville University; B.A., Northeastern University
Office: C252
(860) 215-9450
JLong@threerivers.edu

Andrew Marvin

Full-Time Lecturer of English
M.A., Southern Connecticut State University; B.A., Sacred Heart University
Office: C160
(860) 215-9434
AMarvin@threerivers.edu

Joseph Selvaggio

Associate Professor of English
M.A., Southern Connecticut State University; B.A., Rutgers University
Office: C268
Phone: (860) 215-9471
JSelvaggio@threerivers.edu

Michael Stutz

Department Chair, Associate Professor of Communication
M.A., B.A., University of South Carolina
Office: C258
(860) 215-9479
MStutz@threerivers.edu

Susan Topping

Professor of English
M.A., Rutgers SUNJ; B.A., Hunter College, City University of New York
Office: C254
(860) 215-9481
STopping@threerivers.edu


Faculty Resources

ENG 101 Guidebook (Fall 2016)

English Department Writing Handbook

TRCC Faculty Handbook

Video: Teaching Effective Online Courses

Updated 4/25/17