Academics

 

 

English & Communication Department

Department Chair: Michael Stutz, (860) 215-9479, MStutz@threerivers.edu

The English & Communication Department at Three Rivers provides courses designed for students to improve on their reading and writing in order to be more successful in their academic career. English courses range from developmental to the higher level, literature and writing courses. Also included in the English Department are courses in Communications.


Department Mission

The English & Communication Department at Three Rivers Community College helps students become successful readers, writers, thinkers, and speakers to facilitate the habits of mind that are at the heart of genuine inquiry and engender meaningful academic discourse and civic engagement.


Department Vision

The English & Communication Department at Three Rivers Community College is committed to providing students with the highest quality education over the entire range of courses we offer.


Full-Time Faculty

Todd Barry, Full-Time Instructor of English
B.A., Princeton University; J.D., University of Connecticut; Ph.D., University of Connecticut.
Office: C-272, Phone: 860-215-9406, Email: tbarry@threerivers.edu

Marcel Burch, Associate Professor of English
M.A. English. Southern Connecticut State University; B.A., English, Eastern Connecticut State University.
Office: C-256, Phone: 860-215-9410, Email: MBurch@threerivers.edu

Victoria Holdridge DiFilippo, Full-Time Instructor of English as a Second Language
M.S., School for International Training; B.S., University of New Hampshire.

Office: C-236, Phone: 860-215-9466, Email: vdifilippo@threerivers.edu    

Frederick-Douglass Knowles II, Associate Professor of English
M.A. English, Southern Connecticut State University; B.A. Sociology, Eastern Connecticut State University.
Office: C-120, Phone: 860-215-9445, Email: FKnowles@threerivers.edu

Jennifer Long, Professor of English
M.Ed. Millersville University: B.A., Northeastern University.
Office: C-252, Phone: 860-215-9450, Email: JLong@threerivers.edu

Andrew Marvin, Full-Time Lecturer of English
M.A., Southern Connecticut State University; B.A., Sacred Heart University.
Office: C-160, Phone: 860-215-9434, Email, AMarvin@threerivers.edu

Joseph Selvaggio, Assistant Professor of English
M.A., Southern Connecticut State University; B.A. Rutgers University.
Office: C-268, Phone: 860-215-9471, Email: JSelvaggio@threerivers.edu

Michael Stutz, Department Chair, Associate Professor of Communications
M.A., B.A., University of South Carolina
Office C-258, Phone: 860-215-9479, Email: MStutz@threerivers.edu

Susan Topping, Professor of English
M.A., Rutgers SUNJ; B.A., Hunter College-City University of New York.
Office: C-254, Phone 860-215-9481, Email STopping@threerivers.edu


Faculty Resources

ENG 101 Guidebook (Fall 2016)

English Department Writing Handbook

TRCC Faculty Handbook

Video: Teaching Effective Online Courses

Updated 11/3/16